A register of large industrial, energy and infrastructure projects worldwide with published investment values and announced capacity, organised by country. Maintained by CAF Corporation Ingeniería de Costes SL — used internally for CAPEX & capacity benchmarking.
Values are preserved in their published currency and have not yet been normalized to a common price basis or location factor.
Benchmarking note. Each record keeps the announced capacity / key driver next to its published CAPEX, so cost-per-unit-of-capacity can later be derived and normalized with the CAF Location Factor and Cost Index — the basis for global CAPEX benchmarking. Open a project to see its breakdown into areas.
| Project | Sector / Subsector | Capacity / Key Driver | Original CAPEX | Current CAPEX | vs CAF curve | Status | Conf. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Agratas Somerset Gigafactory (battery cells) | Battery Manufacturing (Li-ion cells) C.7 · New Technologies |
40 GWh/yr cell output | — | ≈ £4.0 Bn | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | A | |
|
ScopeLi-ion battery cell gigafactory — electrode, cell assembly, formation & aging, dry rooms and utilities.
Owner / PromoterAgratas / Tata Group · Private
LocationSomerset
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced plant investment · GBP
Sources
Agratas / EIC UK ↗
· 2024
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Electrode manufacturing
Slurry mixing, coating, drying, calendering, slitting — the largest process-equipment block. Cell assembly
Stacking/winding, tab welding, enclosure, electrolyte filling and sealing. Formation & aging
Initial charge/discharge, aging racks and dwell area — large footprint and power draw. Dry rooms & HVAC
Ultra-low-dew-point dry rooms and cleanroom environmental control. Utilities & solvent recovery
Power distribution, compressed dry air, chilled water, NMP/solvent recovery, water treatment. Building & civil
Shell, foundations, cleanroom fit-out, warehousing and logistics. Quality & end-of-line
Inspection, end-of-line testing, and module/pack lines where in scope. | ||||||||
| Agratas Somerset Gigafactory | Battery Manufacturing C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
EV battery gigafactory | ≈ £5.0 Bn private CAPEX | ≈ £5.0 Bn | Ref. candidate | Development / Construction | A | |
|
ScopeLarge-scale UK EV battery manufacturing facility.
Owner / PromoterAgratas / Tata Group · Private + Public
LocationSomerset
Announced / Start2025–2026
CAPEX definitionPrivate Project Investment · GBP
Sources
UK Government / CMA ↗
· 2025–2026
Scope notesLarge-scale UK EV battery manufacturing facility. | ||||||||
| Sunderland Gigafactory | Battery Manufacturing C.7 · New Technologies |
~100,000 EV/year equivalent reported | £1.0 Bn | £1.0 Bn | Ref. candidate | Development / Construction | A | |
|
ScopeBattery manufacturing facility associated with UK EV supply chain.
Owner / PromoterAESC · Private + Public
LocationSunderland
Announced / StartMay-2025 · Under development
CAPEX definitionTotal Investment · GBP
Sources
Public project announcements ↗
· May-2025
Scope notesBattery manufacturing facility associated with UK EV supply chain. | ||||||||
| Nissan EV36Zero Expansion | Automotive / EV C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
Juke / Qashqai / Leaf EV production | £1.0 Bn earlier EV hub | ≈ £3.0 Bn cumulative investment since 2021 | Ref. candidate | Execution | A | |
|
ScopeLater announcement represented up to roughly £2 Bn additional investment.
Owner / PromoterNissan + supply chain partners · Private
LocationSunderland
Announced / Start2023 · Multi-year
CAPEX definitionCumulative Corporate Investment · GBP
Sources
Scope notesLater announcement represented up to roughly £2 Bn additional investment. | ||||||||
| Siemens Healthineers MRI Facility | Medical Technology Manufacturing C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
Superconducting MRI magnet manufacturing | £250 M | £250 M | Ref. candidate | Development / Construction | A | |
|
ScopeNew manufacturing facility for superconducting magnets used in MRI systems.
Owner / PromoterSiemens Healthineers · Private
LocationNorth Oxfordshire
Announced / StartMay-2024 · Development / construction
CAPEX definitionProject Investment · GBP
Sources
Siemens Healthineers / public announcement ↗
· May-2024
Scope notesNew manufacturing facility for superconducting magnets used in MRI systems. | ||||||||
| Siemens Mobility Chippenham | Rail Technology Manufacturing C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
Rail signalling & control equipment / R&D | £100 M | £100 M | Ref. candidate | Development | A | |
|
ScopeManufacturing and R&D centre.
Owner / PromoterSiemens Mobility · Private
LocationChippenham
Announced / StartMar-2024 · Development
CAPEX definitionProject Investment · GBP
Sources
Siemens Mobility / public announcement ↗
· Mar-2024
Scope notesManufacturing and R&D centre. | ||||||||
| Dogger Bank Wind Farm | Renewables / Offshore Wind C.4 · Renewable Energy |
3.6 GW offshore wind (3 phases) | ≈ £9 Bn | ≈ £9 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeWorld's largest offshore wind farm.
Owner / PromoterSSE / Equinor / Vårgrønn · Private
LocationNorth Sea
Announced / Start2020–2026 · under construction
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · GBP
Sources
SSE / Equinor
· 2024
Scope notesWorld's largest offshore wind farm. | ||||||||
| Hinkley Point C | Nuclear Power C.5 · Nuclear |
3.2 GW (2× EPR) | £46 Bn (revised) | £46 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeEPR nuclear power plant.
Owner / PromoterEDF · Private + gov CfD
LocationSomerset
Announced / Start2016–2030 · under construction
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · GBP
Sources
EDF
· 2024
Scope notesEPR nuclear power plant. | ||||||||
| HS2 High-Speed Rail (Phase 1) | Infrastructure / Rail C.2 · Infrastructure |
High-speed rail, Phase 1 | £45–66 Bn | £45–66 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeHigh-speed rail line.
Owner / PromoterHS2 Ltd · Public
LocationLondon–Birmingham
Announced / Start2020–2033 · under construction
CAPEX definitionProgram Budget · GBP
Sources
UK Government
· 2024
Scope notesHigh-speed rail line. | ||||||||
| Project | Sector / Subsector | Capacity / Key Driver | Original CAPEX | Current CAPEX | vs CAF curve | Status | Conf. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Plaquemines LNG | Oil & Gas / LNG C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
~20 MTPA LNG | US$21 Bn | US$21 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeModular LNG export facility on the Mississippi River.
Owner / PromoterVenture Global · Private
LocationPlaquemines, Louisiana
Announced / Start2023 FID · 2023–2027
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Venture Global / FID announcement
· 2023
Scope notesModular LNG export facility on the Mississippi River. | ||||||||
| Rio Grande LNG (Phase 1) | Oil & Gas / LNG C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
17.6 MTPA (3 trains, Phase 1) | US$18 Bn | US$18 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeFirst-phase LNG export terminal.
Owner / PromoterNextDecade · Private
LocationBrownsville, Texas
Announced / Start2023 FID · 2023–2027
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
NextDecade / FID announcement
· 2023
Scope notesFirst-phase LNG export terminal. | ||||||||
| Golden Pass LNG | Oil & Gas / LNG C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
~18 MTPA LNG | US$10 Bn | US$10 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeLNG export terminal (3 trains).
Owner / PromoterExxonMobil / QatarEnergy · Private
LocationSabine Pass, Texas
Announced / Start2019 FID · 2019–2026
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
ExxonMobil / QatarEnergy
· 2019
Scope notesLNG export terminal (3 trains). | ||||||||
| Woodside Louisiana LNG (Phase 1) | Oil & Gas / LNG C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
16.5 MTPA (Phase 1) | US$17.5 Bn | US$17.5 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeFoundation development of a multi-phase LNG hub.
Owner / PromoterWoodside Energy · Private
LocationCalcasieu, Louisiana
Announced / Start2025 FID · 2025–2029
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Woodside / FID announcement
· 2025
Scope notesFoundation development of a multi-phase LNG hub. | ||||||||
| Vogtle Units 3 & 4 | Nuclear Power C.5 · Nuclear |
2.2 GW (2× AP1000) | ≈ US$35 Bn | ≈ US$35 Bn | Ref. candidate | Operating | A | |
|
ScopeFirst new US reactors in decades.
Owner / PromoterGeorgia Power / Southern Company · Private
LocationGeorgia
Announced / Start2013–2024 · operational 2023–2024
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Southern Company
· 2024
Scope notesFirst new US reactors in decades. | ||||||||
| California High-Speed Rail | Infrastructure / Rail C.2 · Infrastructure |
High-speed rail, Phase 1 | ≈ US$100+ Bn | ≈ US$100+ Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A- | |
|
ScopeHigh-speed rail line.
Owner / PromoterCalifornia High-Speed Rail Authority · Public
LocationCalifornia
Announced / Start2015–2033 · under construction
CAPEX definitionProgram Budget · USD
Sources
CHSRA
· 2024
Scope notesHigh-speed rail line. | ||||||||
| Chobani Dairy Processing Plant (Rome, NY) | Food & Beverage C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
>1 billion lbs/y dairy (~12 M lbs milk/day, 28 lines) | US$1.2 Bn | US$1.2 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
Scope>1 billion lbs/y dairy (~12 M lbs milk/day, 28 lines)
Owner / PromoterChobani · Private
LocationRome, New York (Griffiss)
Announced / StartApr-2025 · 2025–2026
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Chobani / PR Newswire ↗
· 2025
| ||||||||
| Merck Center of Excellence (Elkton, VA) | Pharmaceuticals C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
400,000 sq ft biologics / pharmaceutical manufacturing | US$3 Bn | US$3 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
Scope400,000 sq ft biologics / pharmaceutical manufacturing
Owner / PromoterMerck & Co. · Private
LocationElkton, Virginia
Announced / StartOct-2025 · 2025–2028
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Merck ↗
· 2025
| ||||||||
| Wolf Summit Energy CCGT | Power (Gas / CCGT) C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
600 MW combined-cycle gas turbine | US$1.2 Bn | US$1.2 Bn | Ref. candidate | Announced | A | |
|
Scope600 MW combined-cycle gas turbine
Owner / PromoterBlackstone Energy Transition Partners · Private
LocationHarrison County, West Virginia
Announced / Start2025 · 2025–2028
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Blackstone ↗
· 2025
| ||||||||
| Project | Sector / Subsector | Capacity / Key Driver | Original CAPEX | Current CAPEX | vs CAF curve | Status | Conf. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Meta Hyperion Data Center (Louisiana) | Data Centers / AI compute C.7 · New Technologies |
5, MW IT capacity | — | > $50 Bn (5 GW build) | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | B+ | |
|
ScopeHyperscale / AI data-center campus — shell, power, cooling and IT white space.
Owner / PromoterMeta · Private
LocationRichland Parish, LA
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced total campus investment (facility + IT) · USD
Sources
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Building shell & civil
Structure, foundations, site works and interior fit-out. Electrical & power
Utility substation, MV/LV distribution, UPS, standby generators, switchgear. Cooling
Chillers, CRAH/CRAC, liquid cooling for AI racks, cooling towers, pumps. Mechanical, fire & BMS
Fire detection/suppression, building management system, physical security. IT white space
Racks, PDUs, structured cabling; servers/GPUs may be inside or outside the announced figure. Water & utilities
Water treatment/cooling make-up and on-site generation where applicable. | ||||||||
| Samsung Taylor Fab (Texas) | Semiconductors / 2nm fab C.7 · New Technologies |
50k wspm (2nm) | — | $37 Bn (site) | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | B | |
|
ScopeSemiconductor wafer fab (2nm) — cleanroom, process tools, gases/chemicals/UPW and facilities.
Owner / PromoterSamsung Electronics · Private
LocationTaylor, TX
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced fab/site investment · USD
Sources
Tom’s Hardware ↗
· 2026
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Cleanroom & base build
Shell, ISO-class cleanroom, raised floor, vibration isolation, sub-fab. Process tools
Lithography (EUV/DUV), etch, deposition, CMP, implant, metrology — the dominant cost (~70% at leading edge). Facilities (gases, chemicals, UPW)
Bulk & specialty gases, chemicals, ultrapure water, exhaust and abatement. HVAC & environmental
Cleanroom air handling, temperature/humidity control. Electrical & power
Substation, UPS, distribution. Assembly, test & support
Where in scope. | ||||||||
| TSMC Arizona Fab 21 (Phase 1) | Semiconductors / 4nm fab C.7 · New Technologies |
20k wspm (4nm) | — | $20 Bn (Phase 1) | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | B+ | |
|
ScopeSemiconductor wafer fab (4nm) — cleanroom, process tools, gases/chemicals/UPW and facilities.
Owner / PromoterTSMC · Private
LocationPhoenix, AZ
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced fab/site investment · USD
Sources
CNBC / TSMC ↗
· 2025
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Cleanroom & base build
Shell, ISO-class cleanroom, raised floor, vibration isolation, sub-fab. Process tools
Lithography (EUV/DUV), etch, deposition, CMP, implant, metrology — the dominant cost (~70% at leading edge). Facilities (gases, chemicals, UPW)
Bulk & specialty gases, chemicals, ultrapure water, exhaust and abatement. HVAC & environmental
Cleanroom air handling, temperature/humidity control. Electrical & power
Substation, UPS, distribution. Assembly, test & support
Where in scope. | ||||||||
| OpenAI–Oracle Stargate Abilene | Data Centers / AI compute C.7 · New Technologies |
1,2 MW IT capacity | — | $15 Bn | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | B+ | |
|
ScopeHyperscale / AI data-center campus — shell, power, cooling and IT white space.
Owner / PromoterOpenAI / Oracle / SoftBank · Private
LocationAbilene, TX
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced total campus investment (facility + IT) · USD
Sources
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Building shell & civil
Structure, foundations, site works and interior fit-out. Electrical & power
Utility substation, MV/LV distribution, UPS, standby generators, switchgear. Cooling
Chillers, CRAH/CRAC, liquid cooling for AI racks, cooling towers, pumps. Mechanical, fire & BMS
Fire detection/suppression, building management system, physical security. IT white space
Racks, PDUs, structured cabling; servers/GPUs may be inside or outside the announced figure. Water & utilities
Water treatment/cooling make-up and on-site generation where applicable. | ||||||||
| Microsoft Fairwater Data Center (Wisconsin) | Data Centers / AI compute C.7 · New Technologies |
45 MW IT capacity | — | $3.3 Bn (initial build) | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | A- | |
|
ScopeHyperscale / AI data-center campus — shell, power, cooling and IT white space.
Owner / PromoterMicrosoft · Private
LocationMount Pleasant, WI
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced total campus investment (facility + IT) · USD
Sources
W.Media / DCD ↗
· 2025
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Building shell & civil
Structure, foundations, site works and interior fit-out. Electrical & power
Utility substation, MV/LV distribution, UPS, standby generators, switchgear. Cooling
Chillers, CRAH/CRAC, liquid cooling for AI racks, cooling towers, pumps. Mechanical, fire & BMS
Fire detection/suppression, building management system, physical security. IT white space
Racks, PDUs, structured cabling; servers/GPUs may be inside or outside the announced figure. Water & utilities
Water treatment/cooling make-up and on-site generation where applicable. | ||||||||
| Commonwealth Fusion SPARC | Fusion energy (HTS magnets) C.7 · New Technologies |
140 MW fusion (target) | — | ≈ $3 Bn invested | Ref. candidate | R&D / First-of-a-kind | B | |
|
ScopeMagnetic-confinement fusion device — HTS magnet system, cryoplant, vacuum vessel, heating and controls.
Owner / PromoterCommonwealth Fusion Systems · Private
LocationDevens, MA
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionCapital raised — compact HTS demonstration device · USD
Sources
TechCrunch / CFS ↗
· 2026
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
HTS magnet system
REBCO/YBCO tape, toroidal & poloidal field coils, structure, cryostat — the enabling technology. Cryogenic plant
Helium refrigeration and cooling distribution for the superconducting magnets. Vacuum vessel & first wall
Vessel, blanket, divertor and plasma-facing components. Power supplies & control
Magnet power supplies, plasma control and protection systems. Heating & current drive
RF and/or neutral-beam heating systems. Building & civil
Tokamak hall, radiation shielding, foundations. | ||||||||
| Wolfspeed Mohawk Valley SiC Fab | Semiconductors / SiC power fab C.7 · New Technologies |
Announced (capacity not disclosed per fab) | — | ≈ $1.0 Bn (initial) | Ref. candidate | Announced / Construction | C | |
|
ScopeSilicon-carbide (SiC) power-device fab — 200 mm lines, epitaxy, high-temp processing.
Owner / PromoterWolfspeed · Private
LocationMarcy, NY
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionAnnounced fab investment · USD
Sources
Wolfspeed ↗
· 2022
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
Cleanroom & base build
Shell, cleanroom, sub-fab — for 200 mm SiC lines. SiC process tools
Epitaxy, high-temperature implant/anneal, etch, metallization, wafer thinning — the dominant cost. Facilities (gases, chemicals, UPW)
Specialty gases, chemicals, ultrapure water, abatement. Electrical & power
Substation, UPS, distribution. Substrate handling & test
SiC boule/wafer handling, metrology, end-of-line test. | ||||||||
| Commonwealth Fusion ARC (commercial) | Fusion energy (HTS magnets) C.7 · New Technologies |
Commercial plant (undisclosed) | — | Not disclosed ("multi-billion") | Ref. candidate | R&D / First-of-a-kind | C | |
|
ScopeMagnetic-confinement fusion device — HTS magnet system, cryoplant, vacuum vessel, heating and controls.
Owner / PromoterCommonwealth Fusion Systems · Private
LocationChesterfield County, VA
Announced / Start—
CAPEX definitionFirst commercial plant — CAPEX undisclosed (≈400 MWe, Google 200 MW offtake) · USD
Sources
TechCrunch / CFS ↗
· 2025
Project breakdown — areas / process blocks
HTS magnet system
REBCO/YBCO tape, toroidal & poloidal field coils, structure, cryostat — the enabling technology. Cryogenic plant
Helium refrigeration and cooling distribution for the superconducting magnets. Vacuum vessel & first wall
Vessel, blanket, divertor and plasma-facing components. Power supplies & control
Magnet power supplies, plasma control and protection systems. Heating & current drive
RF and/or neutral-beam heating systems. Building & civil
Tokamak hall, radiation shielding, foundations. | ||||||||
| Project | Sector / Subsector | Capacity / Key Driver | Original CAPEX | Current CAPEX | vs CAF curve | Status | Conf. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Masdar 24/7 Renewable Energy Project | Renewables + BESS C.4 · Renewable Energy |
Gigascale 24/7 renewable power | US$6.1 Bn | US$6.1 Bn | Ref. candidate | Financial Close | A | |
|
ScopeUtility-scale renewable generation and storage program intended to provide round-the-clock power.
Owner / PromoterMasdar / EWEC · Utility / Government-linked
LocationAbu Dhabi
Announced / StartJul–Aug-2026 · Financial close / construction phase
CAPEX definitionTotal Capital Investment · USD
Sources
WAM / Masdar announcement ↗
· 2026
Scope notesUtility-scale renewable generation and storage program intended to provide round-the-clock power. | ||||||||
| du–Microsoft Hyperscale Data Center | Data Centers / AI C.7 · New Technologies |
Hyperscale data center | AED 2.0 Bn | AED 2.0 Bn | Ref. candidate | Announced / Development | A | |
|
ScopeDedicated hyperscale digital infrastructure.
Owner / Promoterdu / Microsoft · Private / Government-linked
LocationDubai
Announced / StartApr-2025 · Development
CAPEX definitionProject Investment · AED
Sources
Dubai Media Office ↗
· 22-Apr-2025
Scope notesDedicated hyperscale digital infrastructure. | ||||||||
| Asprofin UAE Hyperscale Program | Data Centers C.7 · New Technologies |
750 MW–1.28 GW | US$5 Bn lower case | US$5–12 Bn estimate | Ref. candidate | Proposal / Early Development | B | |
|
ScopeThree-campus concept; internal CAPEX model reported around US$4–8 M/MW.
Owner / PromoterAsprofin · Private
LocationUAE
Announced / StartJun-2026 · Early development
CAPEX definitionProspective Capital Requirement · USD
Sources
Industry / project announcement sources
· Jun-2026
Scope notesThree-campus concept; internal CAPEX model reported around US$4–8 M/MW. | ||||||||
| ADNOC Ruwais LNG | Oil & Gas / LNG C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
9.6 MTPA (2 trains) | ≈ US$5.5 Bn | ≈ US$5.5 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeLow-carbon LNG facility powered by clean grid power.
Owner / PromoterADNOC · Public
LocationAl Ruwais
Announced / Start2024 FID · 2024–2028
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
ADNOC / FID announcement
· 2024
Scope notesLow-carbon LNG facility powered by clean grid power. | ||||||||
| Borouge 4 | Petrochemicals C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
+1.4 Mtpa polyolefins (to 6.4 Mtpa total) | ≈ US$6.2 Bn | ≈ US$6.2 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeFourth expansion of the Borouge polyolefins complex.
Owner / PromoterADNOC / Borealis · Public
LocationRuwais
Announced / Start2023 FID · 2023–2025
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
ADNOC / Borouge
· 2023
Scope notesFourth expansion of the Borouge polyolefins complex. | ||||||||
| Al Dhafra Solar PV | Renewables / Solar PV C.4 · Renewable Energy |
2 GW (2,100 MW) solar PV | ≈ US$1.1 Bn | ≈ US$1.1 Bn | Ref. candidate | Operating | A | |
|
ScopeOne of the largest single-site solar plants.
Owner / PromoterEWEC / TAQA / Masdar / EDF / JinkoPower · Utility
LocationAbu Dhabi
Announced / Start2020–2023 · operational 2023
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
EWEC
· 2023
Scope notesOne of the largest single-site solar plants. | ||||||||
| Taweelah RO Desalination | Water & Desalination C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
909,000 m³/day (200 MIGD) RO | ≈ US$1 Bn | ≈ US$1 Bn | Ref. candidate | Operating | A | |
|
ScopeWorld's largest reverse-osmosis desalination plant.
Owner / PromoterEWEC / ACWA Power · Utility
LocationAbu Dhabi
Announced / Start2019–2022 · operational 2022
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
EWEC
· 2022
Scope notesWorld's largest reverse-osmosis desalination plant. | ||||||||
| Project | Sector / Subsector | Capacity / Key Driver | Original CAPEX | Current CAPEX | vs CAF curve | Status | Conf. | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jafurah Unconventional Gas | Oil & Gas / Unconventional gas C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
Phase 1 ~2 Bcf/d sales gas (to 2 Bcf/d+ ) | ≈ US$100 Bn program | ≈ US$100 Bn program | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeLargest shale-gas development outside North America; phased.
Owner / PromoterSaudi Aramco · Public
LocationEastern Province
Announced / Start2020 onward · phased to 2030
CAPEX definitionTotal Program Investment · USD
Sources
Saudi Aramco
· 2020
Scope notesLargest shale-gas development outside North America; phased. | ||||||||
| Amiral Petrochemical Complex | Petrochemicals C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
Mixed-feed cracker ~1.65 Mtpa ethylene | US$11 Bn | US$11 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeIntegrated crackers and downstream units expanding SATORP.
Owner / PromoterAramco / SABIC · Public
LocationJubail
Announced / Start2023 FID · 2023–2027
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
Aramco / SABIC
· 2023
Scope notesIntegrated crackers and downstream units expanding SATORP. | ||||||||
| NEOM Green Hydrogen (Helios) | Renewables / Green Hydrogen C.4 · Renewable Energy |
600 t/day green H2 → 1.2 Mtpa green ammonia | US$8.4 Bn | US$8.4 Bn | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
ScopeWorld-scale green hydrogen-to-ammonia plant.
Owner / PromoterNEOM Green Hydrogen Co (ACWA / Air Products / NEOM) · PPP
LocationOxagon, NEOM
Announced / Start2023 FID · 2023–2026
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
NEOM / ACWA Power
· 2023
Scope notesWorld-scale green hydrogen-to-ammonia plant. | ||||||||
| Qurayyah CCGT IPP (Hajar Two) | Power (Gas / CCGT) C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
3,010 MW CCGT | SAR 10.8 Bn (US$2.9 Bn) | SAR 10.8 Bn (US$2.9 Bn) | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
Scope3,010 MW CCGT
Owner / PromoterACWA Power (Hajar Two Electricity Company) · Private + Public
LocationQurayyah, Eastern Province
Announced / Start2024 · 2024–2027
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · SAR / USD
Sources
Gulf Construction ↗
· 2024
| ||||||||
| Taiba-2 & Qassim-2 CCGT IPPs | Power (Gas / CCGT) C.1 · Industrial Process Plant |
3.96 GW combined CCGT | SAR 14.6 Bn (US$3.9 Bn) | SAR 14.6 Bn (US$3.9 Bn) | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
Scope3.96 GW combined CCGT
Owner / PromoterACWA Power (AEC) / Ajlan & Bros / EDF Group · Private + Public
LocationTaiba and Qassim regions
Announced / Start2024 · 2024–2027
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · SAR / USD
Sources
Enerdata ↗
· 2024
| ||||||||
| ACWA Power–Badeel–Aramco 15 GW Renewables Portfolio | Renewables / Solar PV C.4 · Renewable Energy |
15 GW (5 solar PV + 2 wind) | US$8.2 Bn | US$8.2 Bn | Ref. candidate | FID / Sanctioned | A | |
|
Scope15 GW (5 solar PV + 2 wind)
Owner / PromoterACWA Power / Badeel / SAPCO (Aramco) · Private + Public
LocationAfif, Humaij, Bisha, Khulis (+ wind)
Announced / StartNov-2025 · 2025–2028
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · USD
Sources
| ||||||||
| Al Shuaibah Solar PV (PV1 & PV2) | Renewables / Solar PV C.4 · Renewable Energy |
2,631 MW solar PV | SAR 8.25 Bn (US$2.2 Bn) | SAR 8.25 Bn (US$2.2 Bn) | Ref. candidate | Under construction | A | |
|
Scope2,631 MW solar PV
Owner / PromoterACWA Power / Badeel · Private + Public
LocationAl Shuaibah, Makkah Province
Announced / Start2023–2024 · 2024–2026
CAPEX definitionTotal Project CAPEX · SAR / USD
Sources
Zawya (ACWA Power) ↗
· 2023
| ||||||||